About 17 months out

I finished a 4 mile walk today profoundly grateful for being able to take a walk, climb steps, even break into a sprint if I want to – and still be able to walk the next day. 18 months ago, this was not possible.

Daily life today:

  • 10000 steps a day, minimum. My hip flexors and psoas on both sides may need deep tissue release every other day, but my Achilles is rock solid. Even a couple months ago, I still needed to stretch the Achilles frequently. Not so much the case today. Though, I probably should make it more of a habit.
  • No pain or stiffness walking uphill. No twinges or sudden tearing pain if I break into a sprint.
  • No swelling, no more twinges, no issues with any of my shoes.
  • Wellbutrin was an absolute life saver for s.a.d. – I may wean off for spring and summer, as I’m feeling like me again, but if I do, I’ll be starting it the last week of September again.
  • The dog is happier.
  • I am happier.
  • No regrets. Well, maybe one. Not doing the surgery sooner.

3 thoughts on “About 17 months out

  1. Thank you so much for your blog. I am in the 7th month of recovery with pain at times and swelling most of the time still and have had a minor setback in the last few weeks when I did too much, but there is hope on the horizon! I can walk 3 miles but pay the price if any elevation is involved. Still not able to wear a closed back shoe except for tennis shoes as it rubs against the swollen area where the incision is. I hope this, too, will subside. Just wanted to say thank you for the encouragement and helping me to know I have done the right thing.

    • I still had a good bit of pain after activity and some swelling at 7 months out as well. I remember on vacation 8 months out, I made the mistake of doing a lot of walking in flip flops and Sperrys, and distinctly remember a mini golf outing on a hilly course during which I was miserable with pain. I thought I should have been fully recovered by then! It really floored me that full recovery really proved to take a year. Even so, I was a year out in November and have seen even more improvements to flexibility in the last couple of months. Hang in there! It gets better.

      • Thank you so much!!! My doctor says I am ahead of the timeline, but had nothing to compare it to except for your posts. So very helpful.

Leave a comment